The beginning of it all…

Posted on August 20, 2008. Filed under: Uncategorized | Tags: , , |

Common sense is defined as sound practical judgment that is independent of specialized knowledge, training, or the like; normal native intelligence.   I don’t have a business degree, I am not an entrepreneur (yet!), I am a social media noobie, but there are a few things I like to think my parents’ hard work instilled in me, such as, good common sense, an innate desire to play fair and a solid work ethic.  What I have learned in my years of working for large and small corporations and running a few small businesses is that all too often we forgot that those are the basics of good business.  We lose sight of how the basic concepts of common sense, service and admirable ethics will make or break our companies.  We become trapped in the glitz, flash, money, power, tedium, discouragement and even the minutia of pushing our business to higher levels.

I have sat back and watched my companies, the corporations I have worked for, my entrepreneurial friends, businesses I interact with and just people in general both succeed and fail.  In viewing all of this I have observed one constant, the one thing that will make or break it all is common sense.  How is it applied to what we do?  Do we stop and think whether or not what we are doing makes sense?  If we are not asking those questions, we are doing a disservice to our customers, clients, the people in our lives, our businesses and ourselves.

I’ve been blessed with a pretty good head for business.  I don’t know it all and I don’t claim to know it all.  I have, however, learned a few things along the way.  There are things I have to share.   I have a voice and something to say.  My hope is that somewhere in that voice, in those words, I will make a contribution.  A contribution to you, your business, your clients, your life and our world.  That my experiences, my advice, will make you to stop and think.  Optimally, you will find something that makes running your business a little easier, a little less aggravating, more efficient and more fun.  Things that will free you to bring your best, your most creative selves to what you are delivering to your clients.

I don’t promise that I’m going to give you that lightning bolt moment that will change your business and make you millions overnight.  I can promise you that I will bring you common sense ways to think about your business, your processes, how your interact with your clients and the ways you get “free” to be your superior self.

So, thanks for joining the journey with me.  I welcome your feedback.  Business, like life, is about relationships and the best relationships are built on communication.  So, I’ll bring you my “gems” of common sense.  You bring me your thoughts.  Deal?

Make a Comment

Leave a Reply

4 Responses to “The beginning of it all…”

RSS Feed for Common Sense for Your Biz Comments RSS Feed

Deal! I look forward to hearing what you have to say!

I’m excited to see/hear what you have to say too. BTW, my new business cards (personal-esque) say “Common sense is not so common.”

mousewords & srcasm – Thanks so much for the kind words and the support!

Good for you, Gloria! All the best of luck!


Where's The Comment Form?

    About

    Helping businesses increase their productivity, efficiency and bottom line through some common sense

    RSS

    Subscribe Via RSS

    • Subscribe with Bloglines
    • Add your feed to Newsburst from CNET News.com
    • Subscribe in Google Reader
    • Add to My Yahoo!
    • Subscribe in NewsGator Online
    • The latest comments to all posts in RSS

    Meta

Liked it here?
Why not try sites on the blogroll...

